II. Communication

Guidelines for Effective Communication
The Home School Communication Advisory Committee, consisting of teachers, administrators, parents, and
community representatives, developed a set of system-wide guidelines for effective family and school
communication.


Parents and teachers, working together, can maximize effective communication when:


1. Schools welcome parents as partners in the educational process.
2. Schools share general information so that parents are informed on a regular basis and know whom
to contact with questions or concerns.
3. Parents become familiar with information distributed by the school or school system. (For example,
all high school parents and students should sign up for myGrapevine so that they can receive
emergency notices as well as general information via email.)
4. Parents who seek information about their child’s progress first speak directly with the student’s
teacher or guidance counselor.
5. Principals and teachers are open to parent concerns and offer opportunity for respectful
discussions.
6. Parents and school staff act respectfully at meetings and forums and are considerate of speakers
in asking questions or making comments. These gatherings are important vehicles for sharing
information and creating conversation between home and school.
7. Parents and school staff acknowledge the volume of information that circulates each day and are
respectful of time demands. For example, it may not be possible for a parent or staff member to
respond immediately to a phone call unless it is an emergency.
8. Parents and students are expected to review the contents of the Student/Parent Handbook.

 

 

Central Administration
Superintendent of Schools: 

Dr. Cheryl Maloney    781-786-5210


Assistant Superintendent:

Mrs. Amber Bock      781-786-5220


Assistant Superintendent of Finance and Operations:

Ms. Cynthia Mahr      781-786-5230


Director of Student Services:

Ms. Susan Strong     781-786-5240
 

 


Weston High School Telephone System
Our automated telephone system provides one tier of options for quick selections. In addition, we have
created the ability to go to a second tier of options if you wish to connect with a department head and do not
know his/her extension. The quickest way to make connections with an individual is to know the party's
extension.


The High School telephone number is (781) 786-5800. For emergencies dial this number and press
either 1 for the Attendance office or 7for the Main Office.


First Tier of Selections
Press #.
1. Attendance Office and Assistant Principal Erica Cole
2. Guidance Office and Director of Guidance Richard Escobar
3. Nurse’s Office
4. Athletics and Athletics Director Michael McGrath
5. Academic Departments
6. Skills Department
7. Main Office and Principal Parker

8. Staff Directory


Second Tier of Selections-Academic Departments and Department Heads

Press

 

1. Visual Arts

2. English
3. Foreign Language
4. History/Social Studies

5. Mathematics
6. Music

7. Science
8. Health/PE/Consumer Science

Chris Fehl

Kate Lemons

Cortland Mathers

Jim Murphy
Jim McLaughlin

Chris Memoli
Larry Murphy
Mitch Fennegan

 

5895

5905

5915

5925

5935

5945

5965

5955

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 High School Information Contact List

Weston High School

Main Number

Website

myGrapevine

 

Principal

Mr. Anthony Parker

 
Principal’s Administrative Assistant

Ms. Diane Kaskon

 

Assistant Principal

Ms. Erica Cole 
  

Asst. Principal's Administrative Assistant

Ms. Lori Reid

 

Attendance Office  

Ms. Regina Wong

 

Student Absence Line 

 

Nurse

Ms. Kathy Becker

 

Art Director

Mr. Chris Fehl
 

Athletic Director

Mr. Michael McGrath

 

Bridge Program

Mr. Chris Shutzer

 

Cafeteria Director

Ms. Tess Sousa

 

English Department Chair

Ms. Kate Lemons
 

Fax

Athletics
Guidance
Library

 

Foreign Language Director 

Dr. Cortland Mathers
 

GOAL Program

Ms. Susan Tokay

 

Guidance Director

Mr. Richard Escobar

 

Guidance Administrative Assistant

Ms. Chris Wadsworth

 

History Department Chair

Mr. James Murphy

 

Library

Ms. Alida Hanson

 

Main Office All-School Aide

Ms. Theresa Kacoyanis

 

Mathematics Department Chair

Mr. Jim McLaughlin

 

METCO Director

Ms. La Toya Rivers

 

Music Director

Mr. Chris Memoli

 

Physical Education/Health Director

Mr. Mitchell Finnegan

 

Psychologist

Ms. Rita Comtois

 

Science Department Chair

Mr. Larry Murphy

 

Special Education Department Chair

Mr. Patrick Kelly

 

Skills Center

Mrs. Wendi Bock

Ms Andrea Caron, BCBA

Ms. Gaby Holand

Mr. Adam Katz

Ms. Cathy Klein

Mr. Seth Wyman

Ms. Sophia Vick

 

 

Technology Director

Dr. Lee McCanne
 

Transportation Coordinator

Mr. Robert Wells

 

Utilization of School Facilities

Ms. Marcia Cormay

 

781-786-5800
www.westonschools.org

www.mygrapevine.org

 

ext 5802

email parkera@weston.org
 

ext. 5802

email kaskond@weston.org

 

ext. 5811

email colee@weston.org

 
ext. 5811

email reidl@weston.org

 

ext. 5812
email wongr@weston.org

 

781-786-5299

 

ext. 5830

email beckerk@weston.org

 

ext. 5895

email fehlc@weston.org

 

ext. 5845

email mcgrathm@weston.org

 

ext. 5993

email shutzerc@weston.org

 

ext. 5295

email sousat@weston.org

 

ext. 5905

email lemonsk@weston.org

 

 

781-786-5849

781-786-5820

781-786-5869
 

 ext. 5915

email mathersc@weston.org

 

ext. 5993
email tokays@weston.org

 

ext. 5820

email escobarr@weston.org

 

ext. 5821

email wadsworthc@weston.org

 

ext. 5925

email murphyj@weston.org

 

ext.5865

email hansona@weston.org

 

ext. 5803

email kacoyanist@weston.org

 

ext. 5935

email mclaughlinj@weston.org

 

ext 5850

email riverst@weston.org

 

ext. 5945

email memolic@weston.org

 

ext. 5955

email finneganm@weston.org

 

ext. 5882

email comtoisr@weston.org

 

ext. 5965

email murphyl@weston.org

 

ext. 5943

email kellyp@weston.org

 

 

ext. 5928

ext. 8124

ext. 5993

ext.5939

ext 5944

ext. 

ext. 5972

 

 

781-786-5250

email mccannel@weston.org

 

781-786-5280

email wellsr@weston.org

 

781-786-5230

email cormaym@weston.org

  

     

 

myGrapevine Information for Parents and Students 
myGrapevine is the electronic communication system for the Weston School System as well as the community.  This is the primary communication vehicle between the schools and parents so it's important for all families to be registered on myGrapevine.

 

To register in Weston, go to www.westongrapevine.org and create an account.  Follow the instructions to select your personal settings for topics and communications options

 

 

Websites
Information about the high school can be accessed from the Weston Public Schools website at www.westonschools.org.  In addition to the school calendar for 2013-2014, there are links for athletics, guidance, the library, academic departments, and administration. Teachers post their homework assignments and provide course-related information on the website http://www.homeworknow.com. Math teachers post their assignments and provide course-related information on the website http://www.westonmath.org. School announcements concerning inclement weather are posted on the homepage at www.westonschools.org.
 

 

“No School” Days
To find out about “NO SCHOOL” or “DELAYED OPENING” days, in case of snow or other emergencies:  listen to radio stations WBZ-AM (1030), WCRB-FM (102.5), WRKO-AM (680), or WBUR-FM (90.9) or log onto this Weston Public Schools website.


To avoid interfering with emergency calls, do not call the school switchboard or the Police or Fire departments.

 

 

 updated 9/10/13

click here to download or view the entire Student Parent Handbook

 

 

 
Copyright © 2014 Weston Public Schools. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by Getfused