Start Time/Scheduling Innovation Steering Committee

During the 2017-2018 school year, the Start Time/Scheduling Innovation Steering Committee undertook a broad review of the student experience in the Weston Public Schools related to student health and emotional well-being, including start times, schedules, course offerings, homework and student stress.

The Steering Committee, co-chaired by School Committee members John Henry and Ed Heller, included Superintendent Midge Connolly; Assistant Superintendents Pamela Bator, Abbie Lareau and Cynthia Mahr; Principals Jen Faber (Woodland School), Anthony Parker (High School), and John Gibbons (Middle School); Faculty members David Poras (Middle School Math Teacher), and Kerry Dunne (High School History Teacher and Department Head); and Parents Denise Joutras, Kathleen Mortimer, Vicky Rakov, Julie Townsend, and Mark Wurbel.

The Steering Committee met tto research, discuss and develop a multi-phase plan to implement improvements to the school day.  The first phase of the Steering Committee’s work focused on the potential benefits of a later start time for the Middle School and High School.

The Steering Committee hosted presentations and focus groups for parents, faculty, and community members in the fall and winter of 2017-2018 and recommended that the School Committee vote to change start times beginning in September 2018.

The School Committee approved the new school schedule beginning in September 2018. 

Elementary hours will be 8:00AM to 2:20PM; Middle & High School hours will be 8:45AM to 3:15PM.

Click here for links to resources about adolescent sleep and school start times.

Send your thoughts or comments to the Steering Committee.