A School Council is a representative, school building-based committee composed of the principal, parents, teachers, community members required to be established by each school pursuant to Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 71, Section 59C.

The Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education summarizes the legal responsibilities of School Councils as four major areas of responsibility. School councils are to assist principals in:

  1. Adopting educational goals for the school that are consistent with local educational policies and statewide student performance standards
  2. Identifying the educational needs of students attending the school
  3. Reviewing the annual school building budget
  4.  Formulating a school improvement plan

School Year 2023- 2024 Meeting Dates 

First Meeting: Monday, October 1, 2023
Every first Monday of the Month

Woodland School Council members are:

Shannon Dickerson -Chair
Jill Looney, Teacher
Jenna Poras, Staff
Jenn Memmott, Parent
Mashal Gavale, Parent
Contact details for School Council Members can be found in the Weston Public Schools PTO Directory.
The public meetings dates are listed on the Woodland School calendar.
The agendas can be found on the Town of Weston website. Scroll down to School Committee.